Gondola top

 

I’m going on holiday to Venice next week and the typical image from there is men in stripy tops in gondola’s.

I wanted a loose fitted top I could easily trow over my dress if I just wanted to cover my arms a bit (also good for entering churches). In a sewing magazine I found the pattern for this simple top with 3 quarter sleeves and high boot neck.
IMG_2713

It was also my first time sewing with stretchy fabric, so better start easy. My first attempt ended up with pointy uneven sleeves, so overall this was a nice challenge in using stretch fabric, lining up stripes and putting in sleeves. Thats the kind of projects I like, where you learn something.

IMG_2714

I’m happy with the end result, but secretly hope I don’t need to wear it too much in Venice as the sun will keep me warm enough.

 

Leave a Reply

