Dressmaking doll

After last weeks magazines theme, this week I’m moving on to my mannequin. I’ve had it for years and it is possibly my first item of vintage/antiques I’ve bought.

After I’d grown out of making clothes for barbie dolls I wanted to move on to full size and have a classy mannequin to dress up. Nowadays you can probably even buy them at ikea, but at the time it was painstakingly difficult to find a nice one, until we spotted one in a local antiques shop.
Years later she is still prominent in my room and though her boobs are bigger and waist thinner than me, she fits my clothes fairly well. Currently she wears one of my favourite outfits, a pink lace dress with petticoat. Oh how I wish it was still fashionable to wear a petticoat, they are such fun to wear.

IMG_2796

IMG_2793Bow ties are cool. 
Besides she is also great to show off my latest dressmaking creations, so watch this space!

 

Leave a Reply

